Audio & Recordings

Benedicte Maurseth – Hárr

A homage to the wildlife and mountain people of Benedicte Maurseth’s home area in Hardanger, Norway.

Benedicte Maurseth – Composition and Hardanger Fiddle;
Mats Eilertsen – Bass and Electronics;
Håkon Stene – Percussion and Electronics;
Jørgen Træen – electronics
Rolf-Erik Nystrøm – saxophone
Stein Urheim – langeleik, harmonica, electronics, samples, percussion

Michael Pisaro – Asleep, Street, Pipes, Tones

Michael Pisaro

Michael Pisaro's 64-minute work Asleep, Street, Pipes, Tones for electric guitar, bass clarinet, and tape, performed by Kristine Tjøgersen and Håkon Stene.

Asleep, Street, Pipes, Tones is a fascinating, intense and lovingly produced example of what can be made if you come from a completely different direction to the music-making process. It is life-affirming and somehow subtly insinuating. It is a soundscape, if you like, that can perhaps make us all appreciate our basic existence just that little bit more keenly…

Simon Steen-Andersen – Black Box Music

Black Box Music DVD

Oslo Sinfonietta and Håkon Stene perform Steen-Andersen's Black Box Music, a work nominated for the Norwegian Grammy (Spellemann) 2014, and awarded the Nordic Council Music Prize 2014

"Håkon Stene er formidabel på DVD'en, sådan havde man aldrig forestillet sig virtuositet..."
– Per Rask Madsen, Klassisk Magasin

Håkon Stene – Lush Laments for Lazy Mammal

Lush Laments

Works by Bryars, Crane, Wallumrød, Stene

Awarded the Norwegian Grammy (Spellemann) 2014 in the category contemporary music.

8/10, Uncut Magazine

"A stunning collection", 4/5.
- DownBeat Magazine

"To me, this is a wonderfully pure distillation of what music can do".
- Richard Williams / The Blue Moment (UK)

"It is cinematic, divine and heartbreaking despite being so straight forward, as is the very quest of this music".
- Tristan Bath,

Håkon Stene - Etude Begone Badum

Etude Begone Badum

Works by Lars Petter Hagen, Alvin Lucier, Marko Ciciliani and Michael Pisaro.

"Stene takes sound as malleable material and works it into unexpected shapes, surprising forms and refreshingly imaginative music"
The Wire, Dec/2013

"Clever and unusual, ‘Etude Begone Badum’ is an innovative and intelligent work that explores unusual territory with some impressive effects".

"A feast for the ears, from beginning to end".